When a book listed for sale on AbeBooks sells – whether through AbeBooks, another website, or in your bookstore – it is vital that the book is removed from your AbeBooks online inventory.
If an AbeBooks customer attempts to buy a previously sold book, you will have to reject the order. Rejected orders not only negatively affect your completion rate and your Bookseller Rating, they result in disappointed buyers.
Books sold through AbeBooks are automatically removed from your online inventory. However, it is still important to either mark the book as ’sold‘ or reduce the quantity and upload the change to us. Failure to do so can result in the book being inadvertantly relisted for sale.
Books sold through another website or in your bookstore will remain online and available for sale until you update your inventory management system to reflect the sale, and upload the changes to AbeBooks.
If you sell on other marketplaces or in a storefront, it is essential to keep your online data up-to-date. When inventory is kept up-to-date, duplicate orders are less likely to occur, meaning fewer rejected orders. Please upload as frequently as necessary to keep your inventory current; most sellers find daily uploads sufficient but depending on sales volume, you may find you need to upload more or less often.